Mother, oh Mother, come shake out your cloth,
Empty the dustpan, poison the moth,
Hang out the washing and butter the bread,
Sew on a button and make up a bed.
Where is the mother whose house is so shocking?
She's up in the nursery, blissfully rocking!

Oh, I've grown shiftless as Little Boy Blue
(Lullaby, rockaby, lullaby loo).
Dishes are waiting and bills are past due
(Pat-a-cake, darling, and peek, peekaboo).
The shopping's not done and there's nothing for stew
And out in the yard there's hullabaloo
But I'm playing Kanga and this is my Roo.
Look! Aren't her eyes the most wonderful hue?
(Lullaby, rockaby, lullaby loo).

The cleaning and scrubbing will wait till tomorrow,
But children grow up, as I've learned to my sorrow.
So quiet down, cobwebs. Dust go to sleep.
I'm rocking my baby and babies don't keep...

by Ruth Hulbert Hamilton.


I most commonly see the last 4 lines of that poem pasted all over the internet where there are mothers.  This poem is well worth sharing over and over again.  Why?  For many reasons really.  It's hard when you are a new mother and you had visions of doing it all and you are so tired and fretting about the dishes and making a nice dinner... your baby has kept you up half the night and your eyes feel blurry.  But, babies aren't babies for long... stop and love every moment, take in their faces, hear their little sighs and snorts.  Know that every moment is precious and see the dependance and love that is growing in your child that needs you for its survival. 

Your baby doesn't only need you to feed it and clean it, your baby needs you to feel safe.  Remember that.  You carried your baby snuggly and safely in your womb.  Your baby enjoyed the hugging feel of being tucked up in your womb... and babies continue to need the comfort of being tucked up close to you.

So, when your baby wakes in the night and your eyes are nearly crossed from tiredness... remember how tiny and new things are to your baby... how foreign it is still (even many many months later) to not be tucked up safe in your womb.... give them a snuggle and meet your baby's need.  Comfort is a real need, don't deny them that basic bit of love.

This time won't be forever, even if it feels like it is, its precious.

I just want to share a link to the best resource I've ever come across.  Its a message board that has taught me and is still teaching me to be the mom I want to be... truly the most life changing website I've ever found.

http://www.gentlechristianmothers.com/


Lynn
8/28/2012 10:49:57 pm

In my corner of the world, one new little life has just been born and one, just two houses away will be here in a few short weeks- and I'm hoping that these two moms who are on their second babies will find themselves short of arms and desiring others to hold their babies because... alas, those sweet, small moments do slip by so quickly. And it's evident in things like the house-- mine are past that super little stage and are more helpful and what do you know? The house is starting to regain a tidy appearance-- for longer than a few seconds. And while part of me welcomes it, part of me is so sad that it will be a very, very long time before I get to cuddle one so small and claim them as mine (grandchildren).

If your sanity will let it go, and your spouse can hang in there for the brief untidy hall-- cherishing children is just so much more important.

Nice blog, Heidi :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.