There has been a lot of talk about the movie "The Innocence of Muslims" as its triggered a lot of reactions.  But what has me scratching my head most is... why are we (or the media) focusing mostly on whether or not this movie is hate provoking?  Why are we not focusing on the fact that people, due to feeling hurt or outraged are reacting in violence?

I don't think this is a Muslim issue at all, to be honest.  I think this is a violence issue.  It is not ok for individuals to express their hurt and outrage through destruction and violence.

I'm not saying this movie is good or bad.  To me, its one of many things out there that expresses an opinion about one group that will hurt some and make others think.  I think history is full of such things, that doesn't make them right.  But I do believe that people have a right to express their thoughts.  I've never thought of myself as really having an opinion about free speach before... or maybe I have and it didn't really occupy my mind for long.

What I do support is being able to disagree with others without it incurring a violent and destructive reaction.

Shame on those people out there insighting violence, you are not furthering your cause you are harmining.  Arm yourself with love, find a healthy forum for your words and make a difference through ideas.



Leave a Reply.